Review: MooGoo Fresh Cream Deodorant

Retails at AU$8.50 for 60mL/2fl.oz

Retails at AU$8.50 for 60mL/2fl.oz

My little sister has insanely sensitive skin with dermatitis and contact allergies. No joke: she worked in a fruit shop for a number of years until she discovered she was allergic to touching fruit, or most likely had a reaction to the chemicals used on them. So, my Mum, myself and our cousin Sarah are always on the look out for products that are supposedly good for sensitive skin. That’s how we first discovered MooGoo.

An Australian brand, MooGoo was started by a family who adapted the cream used on their cows’ udders to make it more suitable for human skin (i.e. non-greasy) after noticing that the natural ingredients used were better than most “human” products. The range has expanded over the years to include lotions, body washes, lip balms, hair care, cleansers, serums and even makeup.

Side note: my grandfather was a farmer until he retired aged 81, and he had cattle, among other animals. I have no idea when it started, but cows became my favourite animal. You know how some people have owls everywhere? I had cows. Thus, MooGoo is even more interesting to me.

I use a few different products from MooGoo, and will probably review them at some stage, but my favourite would have to be their Fresh Cream Deodorant. This was actually one of the first products I bought after deciding to go green, and it’s definitely a keeper.

It’s a deodorant, not an antiperspirant, and to be honest it took me a little to get used to the difference. If you didn’t know, antiperspirants actually block the sweat ducts with the aluminium ions entering the cells of the body, making them swell and block sweat glands (and if they’re blocking sweat, who knows what else they’re preventing our bodies from purging). Deodorants, on the other hand, allow the body to sweat but target odour-causing bacteria.

I absolutely love using this deodorant now. It’s not strongly scented, but it’s enough for me, and is non-irritating, even when used just after shaving. It’s in a convenient roller application, so no scooping and pasting required as many other natural deodorants demand. I’d highly recommend this to anyone looking for an easy option for this particular need. In fact, I’m buying a couple of extra bottles tomorrow to take in my suitcase to Kazakhstan.

Ingredients: Aqua, Magnesium Hydroxide (Milk Of Magnesia), Xantham Gum (Food Grade Thickener), Backhousia Citriodora Leaf Oil (Aussie Lemon Myrtle), Zea Mays (Corn) Seed Flour, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract, Humulus Lupulus (Hops) Extract. (The website lists all ingredients, including a great little info table explaining each ingredient.)

One thought on “Review: MooGoo Fresh Cream Deodorant

  1. Pingback: Haul from NHW | soul + heart beauty

Leave a Reply

